First Day of School!

This is how I felt at 8am on Monday.

And to clarify, I’m Nemo.

My MA in Geography programme opened with a 2-hour lecture on Boundaries, Sovereignty and the Territorial State – a fascinating topic with a full-year syllabus to match my enthusiasm and stoke my indignant spirit and pose lots of difficult real-life questions without definitive answers.

In the second hour, the professor screened a CBC film about various international boundaries (read:walls) that are currently under construction in various places around the world, including, of course, my own United States on the border with Mexico. And this on the eve of the 10-year anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. Utterly shameful and indicative of the seemingly human inability to learn from past mistakes and outdated practices. I left the classroom feeling more than a bit peeved.

In short, my return to academia kicked off with a bang! Keep a weather eye out for more ponderings and wanderings from my year in London.

One response to “First Day of School!

  1. I think the prof should have screened Finding Nemo instead! Glad to read you are off to a thought provoking start.

Leave a Reply

