Snip, Snip, Signorina

Day trips to Maseru are jam-packed. Everything takes at least thirty minutes longer, few processes are efficient, and the trips happen so infrequently that staff always ask that small favors be taken care of “since you’re going.”

Even still, Jenn and ‘M’e Nthabeleng and I managed to get a full day of work in and I still had time for…drumroll…a haircut.

IMG_0001Two trips to the salon, a series of schedule readjustments, and a last-minute appointment via text with the only girl in Maseru who cuts white-people-hair; my foot-long curls are no more.

Cecelia (or ‘Chechingya’ as the salon receptionist pronounced it) is an Italian rasta artist who has been living in Maseru for the past few years cutting hair and teaching her colleagues how to handle the scary hair of the white man.

I wish I had gotten a photo of Cecelia and myself. Never before have I had my hair cut by a woman wearing a turban, but I have to say I loved it. We spent the full hour chatting about visas and working abroad and how fast gossip spreads in Lesotho (population 2 million).

Highly recommend this lovely lady’s services and her pleasant company.

Kea leboha, signorina!

IMG_0003

2 responses to “Snip, Snip, Signorina

  1. Wondering if you could pass your hair cutters contact along? Been needing one for a while now…

Leave a Reply

