In which I tour Accra like a Ghanaian

Three days before my final departure from Ghana I finally got around to touring the capital city, Accra. Of course I’ve done a few touristy things in my six months here – visiting Cape Coast Castle, Kakum National Park, and Wli Falls come to mind – but I have a soft spot in my heart for capitals. I daresay Washington, DC will never leave me.

As is so often the case in my life, I met a friend-of-a-friend and made a friend for good. Aba Sersah is a darling girl whose generosity surpassed my wildest expectations. Of course, this is Ghana. Together with her friend Charlene, Aba toured me around some of the must-see spots in Accra.

Not content to be a typical tourist, however, we made sure to enjoy Accra the way the locals do. Drinks on the beach, Ghanaian cuisine in a swish restaurant, ice cream from a hotel parlour, …the works. I couldn’t have asked for a better day, nor a better end to my time here.

One response to “In which I tour Accra like a Ghanaian

  1. Pingback: Firsts and Lasts | The Menace of the Years

Leave a Reply

