Weekend Getaway

On my weekend trip to Accra to visit FOCOS hospital, I crashed at the guest house where I received a hugely warm welcome and more than a little culture shock.

photoA pool behind the adjacent house (which belongs to Dr. Boachie), hot running water, dry red wine by the case, air conditioning, comfortable furniture, coffee, and a stocked refrigerator and pantry. I couldn’t take it all in.

photo (2)

photo (1)

This was so starkly different from my life in Ho, and even more so from the Volta Region communities PoP works with, that it is hard to see the two areas as belonging to the same country, yet they are only a 3-hour tro-tro ride apart.

That being said, it was a wonderful retreat to have roommates to wake up to and reliable internet in my house and that familiar east-coast bustle I’ve been missing. I will be back in a few weeks, rest assured. Bettye and I have already secured a date at an Italian restaurant in Accra.

One response to “Weekend Getaway

  1. Pingback: FOCOS Hospital | The Menace of the Years

Leave a Reply

