Cocoa in Ghana

I don’t like chocolate.

Correction: I don’t like cheap chocolate.

I have my dear friend Chelsea to thank for introducing me to good chocolate, but even that I don’t want in too great a quantity. Given the choice I’ll take dark and bitter over white, and white over milk any day. For all my nitpicking about chocolate, though, never once have I tried fresh cocoa – coincidentally, the crop is Ghana’s largest export and the second-largest production in the world.

Hiking back from Wli Agumatsa Waterfalls, we passed a shop selling all manner of carved crafts but also fresh cocoa.

IMG_4401

In a word, delicious.

In several, the fruit tastes nothing like chocolate.

4 responses to “Cocoa in Ghana

  1. What does it taste like? Bitter?

  2. Pingback: Foodgasms | The Menace of the Years

Leave a Reply

